A goodbye letter to my dead Dog

Manik Rege

By Manik Rege

Dear Angel Dog,

I still wake up at 4.30 A.M to the sound of mellow woofs and pillow scratching. I keep forgetting that I don’t need to take you out for your ‘early-morning rituals’ anymore. I try my best to go back to sleep, but I end up staring at our photos & crying for several hours.

You’re long gone, but the typical mushy smell of your hazel coat continues to haunt the house, its furniture, and its people. Mom stills cleans up your bowls & fills them with fresh water every single day. Dad still plans our picnics only after confirming that the hotel allows pets to stay with their owners. Little Isha still runs straight to the backyard after school, hoping to get her daily dose of slimy kisses and warm hugs. She misses you the most. She’s so heartbroken & hurt. But, she’s not alone…

View original post 591 more words

